Shafie Apdal: East Malaysian MPs loyal to BN

By Shannon Teoh

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 28 - A group of East Malaysian MPs claiming to represent the entire BN contingent from Borneo stated their "undivided loyalty" to the ruling coalition.

Led by Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal, the group of about 20 MPs called speculation of jumping over to Pakatan Rakyat nothing more than lies by irresponsible parties.

"We are not commodities to be bought and sold. We have our honour," he said at a press conference in the Parliament lobby today.

"Don't listen to Anwar's lies," Shafie replied when quizzed about opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Inbrahim's continued insistence that his plan to take over the federal government by Sept 16 is on track.

"Ask Anwar to name the MPs," Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui challenged, saying that all East Malaysian BN MPs would be signing a pledge and sending it to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi tomorrow.

Shafie also said that Sabah Progressive Party's two MPs, Datuk Eric Enchin Majimbun and Datuk Chua Boon Sui, also assured they would stick with BN.

However, the duo, whose party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee has stated he would support a motion of no-confidence in the currrent administration, were conspicuous in their absence as was Kimanis MP Datuk Anifah Aman who had today itself raised serious questions about the hotly-debated DNA Identification Bill.

Anifah, whose brother Datuk Seri Musa Aman is Sabah Chief Minister, is widely considered to be the leader of Sabah Umno MPs, and is believed by BN officials to have decided along with a few other MPs to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat.

Other MPs present included Deputy Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Robert Lau Hoi Chew, Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk Douglas Uggah Embas and Deputy Minister Of International Trade and Industry Datuk Liew Vui Keong.


No comments:

Alexa Traffic Rank

Subscribe to dunia-politik

Subscribe to dunia-politik
Powered by groups.yahoo.com